staff all about us 

Carol s_edited.jpg

My name is Carol and in November 2018 I took over as the Pre-school Manager, having worked previously as the Deputy Manager for 13 years. I am the SENCo, co-ordinating support for children with a range of difficulties and Designated Safeguarding Lead. 

I live in Greenhill with my husband and family, I have two children, my son who is now 22 and my daughter who is 26, and our lovely dogs. I previously worked as an Education Officer in an advertising and public relations company for the dairy industry, in the heart of London for 20 years. 

I moved to Greenhill in 2005 and quickly started volunteering here at the Pre-School, I then was appointed in September 2006. For 11 years I had my own key group, the Ladybirds, supporting children aged 2-5 years of age and supporting my Manager as Deputy.

In December 2018 I was appointed as the Manager and am excited to lead our wonderful staff team to deliver and provide the best quality teaching and childcare that we can. I have been so privileged to work with so many local families over the past 13 years, some of the children that I first worked with here are now leaving school and starting their careers! Our children and families are my motivation to work here, seeing the small steps of progress and watch a child grow in their time with us is an absolute honour and a pleasure to be part of their journey.


My name is Nicola and I live in Broomfield with my Husband, I have three children, my eldest daughter, my son and my youngest daughter and I have one beautiful grandchild. In 2006 I moved to Herne Bay, previously living in Medway. I have three cats and one dog. In November 2018, I took over as the Pre-School Deputy Manager, having worked previously as Team leader.

I have worked at Briary Pre-School for 12 Years as the Honeybee Group. I was the Key Person of the Honeybee group and Deputy Manager of Pre-School. My other roles are two year old advocates and Health and Safety Officer. I have Leaderships and Management Certificate and a Level 3 NVQ Early Years Care and Education, I am also the Designated Safeguarding Lead. 


My role is to support staff and Carol my manager with the day to day of running the Pre-School as a whole team and making sure every child needs are met.


My name is Chloe, I live in Herne Bay with my other half and his family.  I have lived in Herne Bay for 22 Years. 

I am the Ladybirds key person and I have been at Briary Pre-School since 2018, and I have loved watching all the children grow. My other roles are assistant Health and Safety Officer, Designated Safeguarding Lead, Student Mentor and room leader where I support my team when I am on ratio. 

I love art and craft and often come up with unusual group time activities that are a lot of fun for my key group. I have a Level 3 in Early Years, care and education. 


I have many animals and I am often out with my family. 


My name is Claire, I am 36 Years Old. I live in Greenhill with my Partner and two children. My son and  daughter attends Briary Primary School. 

I am the Dragonflies Key Person. I previously worked with children for eleven years with a mixed group of ages from six months old up until five years old, I then decided to become a full-time Mum. 

I have an NVQ Level 2 and Level 3 in Childcare. 


My name is Karen, I live in Greenhill with my husband and 3 children and I have a cat called Kitty.

I have  previously volunteered on the Preschool committee for 2 years when my son attended the pre-school. 

I am the Honeybee group key person and I am doing an apprenticeship working towards my Level 3 Early Years Educator qualification.


My name is Louise.

I am the Caterpillars key person. I live in Herne Bay with my husband and two children. Both my children attended the pre-school. I previously worked as a volunteer at Briary Primary School working in years R, 1 and 3. I then moved over to the pre-school. I have worked at the pre-school since 2018, starting off my journey as supply staff.


I am now an apprentice working towards my level 3 Early Years Educator. I have various other qualifications including Paediatric Level 2 First Aid,  Food Hygiene Level 2, Autism Awareness Certificate and Safeguarding.

My Interests are cooking, travelling with my family seeing the world. I am a big fan of rollercoasters and I like all types of music.

I love working in Early Years. I look forward to getting to know you and your child as we make new memories together.


My name is Maria. I am 20 Years Old. I live at home with my Mum and Dad. I have been living in Herne Bay for 17 Years and I previously lived in Medway when I was younger. I have one dog called Bella, three cats called, Dennis, Smudge and Molly, and I also have a pond full of fish. I previously volunteered at Briary Pre-School in 2017 helping in the Office and in 2018 I took over the Office Administrator.

My occupation at Briary Pre-School is the Office Administrator. I support Carol my manager and Nicola my deputy manager with lots of administrative tasks and finance information. I maintain the Pre-School website, I track children's attendance and enter all the development tracker. I make all of the children's name cards and all of the photo laminates in our entrance lobby. I love supporting the lunch club hour, with the preschool staff and do lots more, supporting all the staff where I can. 


My name is Lucia, I am the Business and Finance Officer. I am 26 Years old. I live in Herne Bay with my husband and my daughter aged two, who currently attends the pre-school. I previously worked here before having my daughter as an admin and practitioner. 

I am currently studying a degree in Early Childhood Studies. I work at the preschool three days a week completing business and finance enquiries and paperwork. 

Carol A.png

My name is Carol. I supply cover at Briary Pre-School and have been covering for 6 years.

I live in Herne Bay with my partner and my three grandchildren. I love animals and at home we have two dogs, Ash and Bonnie, a hamster Pumpkin, a bearded dragon Ginger Ninja, a leopard gecko called Draco and 2 axpolotis, Brin Junior and Bubblegum, as well as lots of babies. In my spare time I like making things, walking, reading and spending time with my family. 

I have a level 2 and 3 in playwork. I have my first aid certificate and food hygiene level 2. I am also a playwork supervisor at Breakfast Club at Briary School. I cover all groups and children from time to time. 


My name is Katie. I am SEN Support at Briary Preschool and hold a CACHE Level 3 in 'Early Years Education'. I have previously been a key worker at Briary Preschool and still cover when support is needed. 

I live with my parents and sister who is five years younger than me. My sister was born with additional needs so through going to various hospitals and clubs throughout this time (along with my parents fostering). I have gained a lot of experience around children with diverse range of needs. 

When I'm not at work, I love spending time with family and friends by going to the beach. I have three rats: Gibson, Gus and Klaus (a rescue) that I spend lots of time clearing out! I do various types of art along with photography. I am always learning something new; I am currently studying for a degree in Psychology, learning how to skateboard and have completed a personal training qualification in the past. 

Clairee 2.png

Hi!  My name is Quyen (sounds like Queen 👑 😊) I'm 32 in October.  I live with my husband and my baby daughter in Herne Common. 

I have a CACHE level 3 Award in supporting teaching and learning in schools.  I have been working with children over 4 years. 

I worked at Briary Pre-school in 2019-2020 as a temporary Key person and I enjoyed my time there gathering more experience and memorable moments. 

Now I'm back working as cover staff. 

When I'm not working I love spending time walking and playing with my family.  I also like to do a bit of gardening and sewing.


Hello, my name is Sarah and I am SEND support at Briary Pre-School.

I have over three years experience in early years. This includes providing cover, interventions and one to one support. During free time, I completed my level 3 in Childcare and Education, along with many free courses such as Understanding Autism and Attachment in the Early Years.

I live in a little flat in Herne Bay, with a brilliant sea view. My interests are reading, writing, sewing, and in the warmer weather walking, and swimming in the sea. I really enjoy spending time with family, especially my sister, niece and nephew.


My name is Pam. I am a SEN support worker at Briary Preschool. I've been in this role for nearly 3 years and I love my job. I have NVQ level 3 in both caring for children and adults and teaching literacy and numeracy in the classroom. Plus, many add on trainings for supporting all sorts of needs and working with SEN. I am passionate about working with children and supporting children to be happy and achieve all they can.


I have lived in Greenhill for 35 years with my husband. We have 8 children 5 still at home. We have many animals too, 3 dogs 2 cats 2 tortoise and gold fish. In the past I worked in schools as a 1 to 1 TA before becoming a foster carer specialising in SEN. So, I have a living working knowledge of many difficulties children and families may face . I finished fostering in 2017. I have been part of the Briary community for most of my time living in Greenhill starting as a parent in 1992 then being on both the friends and preschool committees. 


Hello my name is Jessica I have recently moved to Herne Bay and will be working in the pre- school.


I have 3 children of my own and I have always enjoyed working with children.


I have worked with children for many years and I have a Level 3 Diploma in Childcare. I’m looking forward to meeting children and staff. 


Hello my name is Samantha I live in Whitstable with my husband and our daughter who recently turned 7 years old. My daughter has additional educational needs so I have personal experience of additional needs children although I’m always open to learning more. I  believe that all children are equal yet individual.  


I enjoy reading, swimming, long walks, watching films, the theatre especially musicals, listening to a huge variety of music I listen to music all the time. I love to bake and cook and enjoy arts and crafts with my duaghter I don’t mind a mess I usually end up in a huge mess anyway! I also enjoy quizzes and board games. I am friendly and sociable. One of the things I enjoy most is volunteering with Girl Guiding UK as a Rainbow leader we have so much fun and I’m so proud of being able to nurture the girls helping them to grow in confidence. I have some knowledge of both makaton and British Sign Language which are similar yet different!